Skip to content

Workshop on Demand High ELT

April 2, 2013

Here is a link to a workshop I have done for Jim Scrivener and Adrian Underhill’s Demand High blog –

http://demandhighelt.wordpress.com/2013/04/02/implementing-dhelt-trainer-powerpoint-and-session-notes-from-steve-brown/.

I accept the need to demand higher of our students, and my view is that we are not demanding high enough in the first place due to fundamental problems in the way teachers are trained and developed. We are conditioned to ignore critical learning moments in the classroom, rather than exploit them. This workshop tries to raise awareness to this, by suggesting some examples of classroom practice that go against what most English teachers have been trained to do, but which could lead to more successful learning. I’m happy to discuss these ideas further with anyone who wants to.

5 Comments
  1. Great stuff Steve. I fully intend to use this, but will not be able to stop myself from adding lots of silly effects on the PPP. I just can’t help it.
    Thanks a lot.
    Phil

  2. Bruna permalink

    Hi, I was present at one of Scrinever’s presentation of Demand-High ELT and it rang SO true and extremely valid. It is something that I had been thinking about for a while and it was good to see that there are other teachers “out there” with the same toughts. I have a conference coming up later this year and maybe this is something I’d like to share with other teachers…
    Thanks!

  3. Bruna permalink

    Just to clarify, I didn’t mean that I would use your presentation, just that the topic is something that greatly interests me and if I do present on Demand High, I’ll make my own ppt. Sorry if it sounded as if I would simply use yours and call it my own.

    • The reason it is up there is so other people can use it. So please, go ahead. You’ll probably want to adapt it anyway for your audience but you can do whatever you want with it. Really, don’t worry about it 🙂

Leave a Reply

